NFL Teams That Matter: Week 7

I started the NFL season by telling you which teams matter in the NFL — which six teams were legitimate Super Bowl contenders, and which four teams would still be interesting even if they didn’t contend. I also did this again after week 3.

Of my six original contenders, I still feel good about four of them: Saints, Patriots, Colts, Ravens (though the Ravens and Colts didn’t make my top 6 contenders this week). I think the Packers might get serious if the injury bug ever leaves them. And I think the Chargers are completely dead at 2-5. Not too shabby. So who are the teams that matter at week 7?

The Contenders

Giants (5-2)*
Steelers (5-1)
Patriots (5-1)*
Jets (5-1)
Chiefs (4-2)*
Falcons (5-2)
* new teams since week 3

From my aforementioned pre-season list, only the Steelers and Jets have remained throughout the season.

I hesitating putting the Chiefs on this list. Football Outsides has them, statistically speaking, as the 4th best team in the NFL right now. So it’s probably time to stop considering them a fluke , though I wouldn’t be totally shocked if they’re not on my list 4-6 weeks from now (or even missed the playoffs completely). But as of today, they smell like a contender.

If I had to pick a Super Bowl today, it would be Steelers and Giants. I didn’t think the Giants were going to be anything more than a borderline wild card team this year, but their defense has been awesome and the offense is good enough. Sounds similar to a formula that took them to the Super Bowl a couple of years back.

Dropped from the list of contenders since Week 3: Colts, Bears, Texans, Packers, Saints

Aren’t winning the Super Bowl but…

Broncos (2-5)
Cowboys (1-5)
Chargers (2-5)
Saints (4-3)

It was hard to narrow this list down to just four teams, but I wanted to keep this gimmicky post to 10 teams. As I was listening to the BS Report Podcast, Bill Simmons pointed out that Denver is 4-13 is its last 17 games after starting 2009 6-0. Josh McDaniels may start to feel a warm feeling on his rear end.

The struggles of the Cowboys are well-documented, and I don’t think even if Tony Romo hadn’t been hurt that this season wouldn’t have been 6-10 at best. Now it’s more likely 3-13. At least we won’t have to listen to all the media fawn over how good this Dallas team could be. (Yes, I am talking about you, Jon Gruden.)

I really hope the Saints return to form, because I love watching Drew Brees work his magic. But there is something missing this season; they look very mediocre. I know, injuries have sapped their depth, but I think the Super Bowl hangover will keep them out of contention this season, even if they make the playoffs (which is likely in the pathetic NFC).

  1. NFL Teams That Matter: Week 8 « The Adam Bomb

Leave a comment